Kano Inauguates 11-Member Committee On Educational Development Support

In it’s effort to come up with concise and precise role of Kano Educational Development Support (KEDS) to achieve sound education, Kano State Government has inaugurated 11- Member Committee on Educational Development Support.

Kano Educational Development Support (KEDS) as an institution under the Ministry of Education, operates based on Kano Educational Trust Fund Law, (KETFUND) Law, 2023.

Inaugurating the committee in his office, Kano State Commissioner of Education Alhaji Umar Haruna Doguwa explained that the committee was formed out of government desire to reinforce the activities of Kano Educational Development Support (KEDS), as an institution under the ministry.

Balarabe Abdullahi Kiru, the Director Public Enlightenment of the Ministry in a statement on Wednesday, said Umar Duguwa disclosed that the Committee was therefore mandated to among other things establish the structure of the institution and it’s operational departments and develop Education Frame of Kano Educational Development Support (KEDS) in line with existing law.

” As part of your responsibilities also, you are to come up with standing order in the 2% Operational Fund, look at the possibility of reviewing the 2% Contractual levy and the sharing Formula of the Funds to beneficiaries ” he added.

The Commissioner however said the Educational Development Support Committee which is given two weeks to complete it’s assignment, is also expected to relocate the Kano Educational Development Support from the rented structure to government’s building.

Umar Haruna Doguwa further urged the committee members to work diligently to achieve the set objectives, stressing that the present administration of Engr. Abba Kabir Yusuf is determined to salvage the education sector for the betterment of its teaming populace.

READ ALSO: KNSG Warns Primary, Post Primary Schools Teachers Against Lateness, Absenteeism

According to the Commissioner, the committee has Munzali M. Mustapha Director Planning Kano State Ministry of Education as Chairman, Isma’ila Kabir Director Planning Ministry of Planning and Budget as Member, Abbas Ilyasu Karaye Director Monitoring and Evaluation Ministry of Planning and Budget Member, Musa Gambo Sharifai Director Planning, Research and Statistics Ministry of Higher Education Member.

Other Members of the Committee include Ahmad Garba Auwal Director Planning, Research and Statistics Ministry of Finance, Garba Bello Deputy Director Ministry for Local Government, Barr. Ibrahim Muhd Inuwa Legal Adviser Ministry of Education, Hajiya Aishatu Abubakar Partnership to Engage, Reform and Learn (PERL) Kano Office.

READ ALSO: Kano Unveils Plan To Introduce State Council Of Education

The remaining Members include State SBMC Chairman Alhaji Tijjani Haladu Baraya, Director Finance Educational Trust Fund (KETFUND) Kano State and Muhd Nasiru Ilu Director Human Resource & Development, Office of Head of Civil service, Kano State as Secretary.

The Chairman of the Committee Malam Munzali M. Mustapha assured of the Committee’s determination to come up with new device aimed at achieving the intended goals.